Tags

, ,

I love this skirt pattern and thankfully so does my daughter! It’s a total nightmare to photograph spinning children though!!!

20140221-134218.jpg

Just ignore the fuzziness, you get the overall impression – it’s a twirler! I drafted this patten last spring, the construction is a bit of a fiddle but I think it’s worth it. It is made with slightly flared panels and godets (the proper name for triangular wedges) which you sew in between the panels to add extra flare to the hemline. The result is that you end up with a very twirly skirt at the hem that doesn’t have metres of fabric gathered around the waist, perfect for fusspots that can’t stand bulky waists but still like to spin! I may write up a tutorial for drafting and making this skirt if people are interested?

