Tags

, , , ,

Ruffle yarns…aren’t they just the wackiest thing ever? The first few I saw in the shops had me intrigued. I picked them up, examined them closely and could not work out at all what to do with them and hurriedly put them down again and ran away. Then a friend started sharing some of her fabulous ruffle scarf projects with me and demystified it all – oh my word, they are addictive!

If you have no idea what I’m talking about then here’s a couple of Phildar yarns I’m working with at the moment.

20140122-102159.jpg

See, it’s a mesh yarn or a yarn with a looped edge that you knit through just a few stitches back and forth to create these lovely ruffled scarves. You just cast on a few stitches on that mesh edge and start knitting normally using the loops of the mesh. There’s plenty of videos out there showing you how to get started.

This…

20140122-102623.jpg

….becomes this…

20140122-103134.jpg

And this really unusual yarn by Belgian creative store Veritas….

20140122-103414.jpg

…becomes this, when knitted up in a slightly more complicated way.

20140122-103432.jpg

I think the fact that you can make a scarf within a couple of hours is a large part of the appeal, in terms of project completion they are really rather satisfying. They also look really effective; recipients of your handiwork will ooh and ahh for quite some time unable to work out how on earth you knitted it! Clever stuff!

