Tags

,

One can never have too many pyjamas for summertime – that is a fact!

IMG_8931

But have you seen the price of nightwear recently? Just how much fabric does it take to make a pair of drawstring or elastic waisted shorts? I can tell you now, not a lot! So why pay upwards of 20€ for a pair of shorts to wear in bed if I can make them myself with less than a metre of fabric? I wouldn’t spend 20€/m on skirt fabric that’s for sure!

Here’s a couple of pairs of pyjama shorts I’ve recently made for myself…

IMG_8917…the plain and simple version

The fabric cost me 3€/m at the market and I drafted the pattern from an existing pair of linen drawstring trousers. These are just simple straight leg shorts with an elastic waist, what more do you need? OK maybe you want to fancy them up a little – so add a ruffle on the leg hem or a stitch a bit of ribbon to the front of the waistband to tie a bow, job done!

IMG_8916

…the ruffle hem version

Seriously, these shorts cost me next to nothing to make – so so simple to make and paired up with a plain t-shirt and they’re as good as any from the shops I’d dare to say!

