Tags

, , , , , , ,

As quilting and piecing blocks is very much on my mind at the moment, I thought I’d share with you a bunting quilt that I made last summer. It was made for a very special baby, the much-awaited little boy of a good friend.

 IMG_7889

I’ve seen bunting quilts done before in various guises; big flags, little flags, straight lines, wavy lines, blue skies, birds and butterflies dotted around. I wanted to keep it simple and make it modern; at the end of the day it’s a pretty straightforward appliqué job so I really wanted the quilting to speak just as much as the bunting. I went for self-coloured parallel lines following the curve of the bunting and I think it worked out ok.

IMG_7892

Of course I had to make it rainbow, well… it wouldn’t have been one of mine if it wasn’t!  Then I realised that it didn’t look very “boyish” so decided to back it with something that was indisputably so.

IMG_7896

It’s enough to make your eyes go dotty!

IMG_7897

And of course, with all those colours to choose from, I simply had to indulge my love of polkas. I’d slipped a couple into the flag-lines but this blue mini polka binding really finished it off.

