Tags

, , , , , ,

Together with a few crafty friends, I’m taking part in a quilt-along this year. Some of the group are experienced sewers, others are fairly new to it and others just new to patchwork and quilting. So we’re going with a traditional sampler pattern with 12 relatively straightforward blocks, aiming to complete a block a month.

IMG_8527

Having had a big fabric sort out over the holidays, I decided to make mine scrappy and rainbow. Obviously there are not enough colours in the rainbow for a 12 block quilt but maybe think more colour palette than rainbow. I am determined to do some scrap reduction this year, so this seemed a good starting point.

I’m rather glad we’ve gone for something traditional as, whilst I’ve done some quilting and piecing, I’d probably describe myself as more “modern” in style and generally steer away from traditional piecing. This is nothing more than self-preservation as one can hide a lot more errors in random wonky blocks! This block is far from perfect but this is only the 2nd time in my life I’ve made half-square triangles and the 1st time for flying geese, so I think I’ll accept its faults with appropriate grace!

