Hello world, this is my very first foray into the world of blogging so please bear with me. Over the years I’ve been inspired by, laughed along with and followed so many creative and sometimes downright witty bloggers, so why sit down now and write my own? It’s a question a few friends have asked me over the last week and I’m not sure that there’s a simple answer. Maybe it’s just a platform through which I can share my creative processes with friends and others? Maybe it’s to offer a bit of inspiration? Or maybe the pressure to update my blog will prevent me from spending days procrastinating about projects that I should just be getting on with? Who knows, but it seems like now is the time so here we go.

By this point you may be wondering what Stiktastic is all about? Well it’s a rather poor attempt at Flenglish I suppose; “stik” comes from the Dutch verb “to stitch” and the “-tastic” simply defines its awesomeness and makes for a funky name!

So what will I be writing about? Mostly about the stuff that keeps me busy; sewing for myself, children and the home. My trusty workhorse will probably get a post all to itself at some point, but just for the record, it’s a 2 year old Janome MS2522 (Limited Edition) and I love it to bits for its ability to cope with anything I throw at it without complaint. I’ll also share some patching and quilting, general crafting (with and without children) and maybe a bit about the garden but that’s currently a scary mud bath and I’m in denial about it.

I hope you enjoy Stiktastic, it’s very much work in progress so your feedback is valued. I must also say a very big thank you to my good friend over at Being a Mummy who has answered my questions with admirable patience and has been a great help in getting me this far!

